Frequently Asked Questions About Landlord-Tenant Law

Landlords and tenants have rights and responsibilities under the law. The laws of each state vary, and working with a local attorney with experience handling Connecticut landlord-tenant issues can help ensure that you get the answers and counsel you need.

For a free 30-minute consultation with a lawyer about your case, call 203-967-1190. At Mark Sank & Associates, LLC, we represent landlords and tenants in Connecticut.

Can a Landlord Increase the Rent?

A landlord can increase the rent but not while a lease is in effect. The lease terms govern the landlord-tenant relationship and a landlord cannot raise the rent without signing a new, updated lease or amendment with the tenant.

Can a Landlord Evict a Tenant Without Going to Court?

No, a landlord cannot evict a tenant without following the proper procedures under Connecticut law. There are specific rules regarding the notification to tenants of the commencment of an eviction and the landlord must pursue an eviction action through the courts before seeking to remove the tenant from the rental property.

When Do Security Deposits Need to be Returned in Connecticut?

A landlord must return the full security deposit, with statutory interest, within 30 days after the tenant vacates the property and returns the keys or send a letter or email to the tenant itemizing the nature and extent of the damages. In order to receive the security deposit or letter, the tenant must provide the landlord with a forwarding address in writing.

If the property was damaged by the tenant or there is a balance outstanding for rent, the landlord may use the security deposit to pay for repairs. However, if the cost of repairs is less than the full amount of the deposit, the landlord must return the remainder (along with the statutory interest calculated on the entire deposit). Additionally, the landlord must provide an itemized list of damages to the tenant.

What if the Security Deposit is Not Returned in 30 Days?

If a security deposit is not returned in 30 days of a tenant vacating the premises and returning the keys or the landlord does not send a letter itemizing the nature and extent of the damages, the landlord may be liable for two times the amount of the deposit plus the tenant's attorney's fees in seeking same.

Get Answers to Your Questions

Every situation is different and the terms of your lease may outline your rights and obligations. We can help. At Mark Sank & Associates, LLC, we represent landlords and tenants in eviction actions, lease negotiations and in related legal matters. We can provide you with the advice and support you need.

Call our firm at 203-967-1190 or contact us online for a free 30-minute consultation about your case.